Michael Coleman 1891-1945 2 Cd And Book


Out of stock

SKU: 21017438 Category:


Michael Coleman 1891-1945 2 Cd And Book


CD 1 

  • Lord McDonald
  • Cherish The Ladies
  • The Boys Of The Lough
  • The Liverpool/O’Neill’s
  • The Shaskeen
  • Jackson’s
  • Farrell O’Gara
  • James Gannon’s
  • The Crooked Road To Dublin
  • Lord Gordon
  • The Frost Is All Over
  • Reidy Johnson’s
  • The Job Of Journeywork
  • Rakish Paddy
  • Tobin’s Fancy
  • Crowley’s
  • Casey’s
  • The Kerryman’s Daughter/The Bird In The Tree
  • Up Sligo
  • Lucy Campbell
  • McDermott’s
  • Doctor Gilbert/The Queen Of May
  • The Humours Of Ennistymon
  • The Green Fields Of America/The Swallow’s Tail

Side 2

  • The Grey Goose
  • The Morning Dew/The Woman Of The House
  • Murray’s Fancy
  • The Foxhunter
  • The Duke Of Leinster/And His Wife
  • Larry O’Gaff
  • The Real Blackthorn Stick
  • Murphy’s
  • Jackson’s Morning Brush/The Rambling Pitchfork
  • Tarbolton/The Longford Collector/The Sailor’s Bonnet
  • The Sailor On The Rock
  • The Monaghan Jig
  • The Pigeon On The Gate
  • Apples In Winter
  • Bonnie Kate/Jennie’s Chickens
  • The Frieze Britches
  • The Stage/The Western
  • Paddy Ryan’s Dream
  • Tell Her I Am
  • The Kerry Reel/The Boyne Hunt
  • Tommy Hill’s Favourite
  • Killarney Wonder
  • Farewell To Ireland
  • Mrs. Kenny’s

The double CD comes with a revised edition of the Harry Bradshaw biography of Coleman which features photos and interviews with people who knew Coleman.

Michael Coleman (1891-1945) emigrated to the USA where he enjoyed a very successful recording career. His records have influenced generations of players.

So famous is Coleman that the area of south Sligo where he came from is known in music circles as ‘Coleman Country’.

This collection of vintage recordings has been unavailable for a time and the revised edition in its new format will be much appreciated by devotees of authentic fiddle music. Coleman was a master musician and the exemplar of the Sligo style of fiddle playing. This collection comprises 48 tracks which were recorded in the States mainly in the 1920s, when Coleman was in his prime.

Additional information

Weight 350 g